Posted in Attitude

Experience Vs. Money

“If you’re good at something, never do it for free.” – The Joker & Business Advisers everywhere
This has been long standing advice for freelancers especially.  The problem with this advice is that if you really want to do something – chances are you’ll lower your price so that you can do that thing.
 
So which is really more valuable? The money or the experience?
Obviously the “right” answer is always the experience. But what about the practical side of things? Is it wise to lower your price and your value to get fun jobs? Or is this foolish generosity?
The answer is somewhere in between. Doing those fun jobs for less money will always help you develop your skills, provide more quality substance for your portfolio, and keep the fires burning. In my mind, these jobs are more of an investment.
In a world of quick fixes, I feel like I’m going against the grain quite a bit with this philosophy. But for me, trusting my gut is more important (and more reliable) than numbers.
Author:

Hello! Thanks for visiting my wordpress site. Here you'll read about my life as a graphic designer/photographer/stepmom/military wife/ambivert/quirkster. Why? Because I like to write. And people like to read. It's supply and demand. Since I work from home, my worklife and homelife is intertwined. A lot of my posts will be about work/life integration. I'll share insights about project management, balancing domestic, and a lot about moving forward when working with the most impatient client ever in the world (myself).

Leave a Reply

